Management Board

Eero Lehtovaara

Eero Lehtovaara – ABB Oy

As a Master Mariner, Eero has a deep understanding of vessels and operators. He has a broad experience in the marine industry, and has managed operations both onboard vessels and on the shore side. With his international and multilingual operations background, he efficiently communicates the ABB Marine strengths to customers. Eero is responsible for the continuous communication to classification societies and main stakholders. Completed ABB’s Senior Leadership Development Program at IMD Business School in Lausanne.

Specialties: Energy conservation, shipmanagement, Vessel operations, business development, Classification societies

Eero Lehtovaara acts as the Chairman for the Autonomous Maritime Ecosystem.


Esa Lindqvist

Esa Lindqvist – Business Finland

Esa Lindqvist is currently working as Group Manager in Business Finland. He has previously been the Director of Networking businesses and research in Tekes (The Finnish Funding Agency for Innovation). Earlier he has specialized in technology strategies and been the coordinator for EU technology strategy programs such as MINT and IMT.

Esa has also been working for Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment in Pirkanmaa and Southeast Finland leading departments focusing on innovations, technology and development.


Tommi Pettersson – Cargotec

Tommi Pettersson has 25 years of experience from areas of international business, sales, business development, product management, product development and leading multicultural, multi disciplined global teams. Tommi holds Master of Science (Engineering) and Master of Science (Economics) degrees. He joined Cargotec in 2014 and has been working in different leadership roles in the area of automation, product development, software development and R&D.
In his current position Tommi Pettersson Leads Cargotec’s Digital Solution Hub, which is providing together with Cargotec Strategic Business Units digital solutions to Cargotec’s customers. He is passionate about helping maritime and logistics industry move towards smarter, more profitable and sustainable logistics through digitalisation, data and optimized cargo flows.


Bengt Sahlin – Oy LM Ericsson Ab

Bengt Sahlin has an M.Sc. in Computer Science from Helsinki University of Technology (TKK)). At TKK, he has also lectured on Modern Data Communications as well as on DNS and DNS security. He is a Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP).

Bengt has worked in the fields of data- and telecommunications for 21 years, mostly with security aspects. In 2000 he joined Ericsson where he has worked on mobile systems security and product security. He was also technical coordinator for Ericsson’s security implementation projects.

Bengt has been involved in standardization activities since 1997. He has been participating 3GPP, ETSI, GSMA and IETF activities. He was 3GPP TSG SA WG3 (security) chairman 2010-2013.

Currently, Bengt is a Research Leader for the security group at Ericsson Research NomadicLab in Jorvas. Bengt has been active in external collaboration projects since 2007, including both national Finnish collaboration projects as well as projects on EU level.


Christian Sundell – Tieto

Christian has had several management positions during his 25+ year career in Software and High Technology. Currently he is a director at TietoEVRY for Global Intelligent Transport and Logistics business and public business digital transformation development in Finland. The position contains strategy work, sales and partnership within traffic, transport, and logistics domain in addition to leading and seeking growth for innovative organisation and society



Juhani Hupli – Wärtsilä

Juhani Hupli acts as the vice chair for the Autonomous Maritime Ecosystem.